Last updated: October 16, 2026 · Every document requirement below was checked on each plasma chain’s official website on October 16, 2026. Rules can differ from one center to another, so call or check your local center’s page before your first visit.
- Bring three things to your first plasma donation: a valid government-issued photo ID, proof of your current address (lease, utility bill or recent postmarked mail) and proof of your Social Security number.
- Address proof must be recent: CSL Plasma and Octapharma ask for mail dated within 60 days, BioLife within two months, and KEDPLASMA and ADMA BioCenters within 30 days.
- No Social Security card? Grifols accepts a W-2 or pay stub showing your full SSN, Octapharma lists a W-2, pay stub, voter registration card with SSN or military ID, and ADMA accepts an ITIN.
- Basic eligibility: every chain we checked says you must be at least 18 and weigh at least 110 pounds. Plan about 2 hours (up to 2.5 at Grifols) for the first visit.
Getting turned away at the front desk is the most common first-visit frustration at plasma centers, and it almost always comes down to paperwork: an out-of-state license with no matching proof of address, a utility bill that’s too old, or no proof of a Social Security number. Bring the right documents and the rest of the visit is mostly waiting, a short health screening and the donation itself.
We checked what CSL Plasma, BioLife, Grifols, Octapharma, KEDPLASMA (formerly BPL Plasma) and ADMA BioCenters each say on their own websites. Below you’ll find a side-by-side table, what to eat and wear, how long the first visit takes and a printable checklist.
First plasma donation documents by chain (October 2026)
| Chain | Photo ID | Proof of address | Social Security proof | Age / weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CSL Plasma | Valid government-issued ID, such as a driver’s license or military ID | Current lease or utility bill; mail postmarked in the past 60 days; digital copies accepted | Proof of SSN, such as your Social Security card | 18 to 74, at least 110 lbs |
| BioLife | ID with photo, signature and date of birth (two or more documents can be combined) | Must live within 40 miles; ID with address, signed lease, utility bill or USPS mail from the past two months | Social Security card, or a Permanent Resident Card, Border Crossing Card or Laser Visa number | 18+, at least 110 lbs |
| Grifols | Driver’s license, state ID, passport or military ID (students: school ID plus a copy of birth certificate) | Needed if your ID is out of state or lacks your address; W-2, pay stub, lease or utility bill within 30 days | SSN card, W-2 or pay stub with your full name and full SSN; Border Crossing Card for non-citizens | 18 to 69, at least 110 lbs |
| Octapharma | Valid, non-expired government-issued photo ID | Utility bill, lease or mail dated/postmarked within the last 60 days (if your ID doesn’t show your address) | SSN card, or voter registration card with SSN, military ID, W-2 or current pay stub with SSN | 18 to 70, at least 110 lbs |
| KEDPLASMA (ex-BPL) | Valid, current government-issued photo ID (driver’s license, passport) | Lease, utility bill or mail; FAQ says postmark from the previous 30 days | Social Security card / proof of SSN | 18+ (19 in Alabama), at least 110 lbs |
| ADMA BioCenters | Current, valid photo ID with date of birth | Utility bill, lease or mail postmarked within the past 30 days | Proof of SSN or an ITIN; name must exactly match your photo ID | 18 to 65, 110+ lbs |
Summarized from each chain’s official website on October 16, 2026. Where a chain’s pages differ slightly (for example, KEDPLASMA lists 18+ on its requirements page and 18 to 65 in its FAQ), we show the stricter wording or both. Your local center has the final say.
What if you don’t have your Social Security card?
You usually don’t need the physical card, but you do need some proof of your number. Here’s what each official site says:
- Grifols: a W-2 or paycheck stub works if it shows your full name and entire SSN. If you have nothing, Grifols suggests getting number verification from your local Social Security office first.
- Octapharma: lists a voter registration card with SSN, a U.S. military ID or dependent ID, a W-2, or a current pay stub that includes your SSN.
- BioLife: says a Permanent Resident Card, Border Crossing Card or Laser Visa number can be used instead.
- ADMA BioCenters: accepts an individual taxpayer ID number (ITIN), and the name on your photo ID must exactly match your Social Security card or ITIN.
- CSL Plasma and KEDPLASMA: their pages only mention the Social Security card or “proof of SSN” without listing alternatives, so call your center to ask what it accepts.
What to eat, drink and wear before your first donation
| Chain | Eat / drink (official advice) | What to wear |
|---|---|---|
| CSL Plasma | Healthy meal, skip high-fat foods; plenty of water, avoid caffeinated drinks; avoid alcohol in the 24 hours before | Short sleeves or sleeves that roll up easily |
| BioLife | Non-greasy meal with protein and iron within 3 hours before; hydrate the day or two before (water or electrolyte drinks) | Not specified on site |
| Grifols | High-protein diet, avoid high-fat foods; plenty of water; avoid alcohol, tobacco and caffeine the day before and day of | Dress comfortably; sleeves that roll up past your elbows |
| Octapharma | Iron- and protein-rich diet, avoid high-salt foods; water the day before and day of; limit coffee and alcohol | Not specified on site (centers have a dress code; ask locally) |
| KEDPLASMA | Not specified on site | Not specified on site |
| ADMA BioCenters | Not specified on site (refers to preparation tips at your center) | Not specified on site |
The common thread across the chains that give advice: eat a real meal, avoid greasy or high-fat food, drink plenty of water and skip alcohol. A short-sleeved shirt or a layer you can roll up above the elbow saves time at the screening and in the donation chair.
How long does the first plasma visit take?
Plan for about two hours, and don’t book anything right after. Here’s what each chain publishes:
- BioLife: first appointment “usually takes about 2 hours”; later visits 1 to 1.5 hours.
- Grifols: about two to two and a half hours, including a physical exam, screening, testing and ID/address verification.
- Octapharma: “allow for up to two hours” for your first visit.
- KEDPLASMA: approximately 2 hours, including a physical exam and screening questions.
- ADMA BioCenters: approximately 120 minutes for the first visit; later visits about 90 minutes.
- CSL Plasma: no separate first-visit time; the site says donation usually takes about 90 minutes to two hours.
The first visit is longer because of the one-time steps: a health history questionnaire, a short physical exam and a blood test (BioLife lists these three screening steps). ADMA BioCenters strongly recommends that first-time donors make an appointment.
How often can you donate after your first visit?
Under FDA rules, donors must not give plasma more than once in a 2-day period or more than twice in a 7-day period. That limit applies to you, not to each center, so donating at two chains in the same week doesn’t get around it. For the full breakdown, see our guide on how often you can donate plasma.
Printable first plasma donation checklist
- ☐ Valid, non-expired government photo ID (driver’s license, state ID, passport or military ID)
- ☐ Proof of current address if your ID doesn’t show it: lease, utility bill or postmarked mail (30 to 60 days old at most, depending on the chain)
- ☐ Social Security card, or an accepted alternative such as a W-2 or pay stub with your full SSN
- ☐ Names match across all documents
- ☐ Ate a healthy, non-greasy meal with protein and iron
- ☐ Drank plenty of water the day before and the day of; no alcohol
- ☐ Short sleeves or sleeves that roll up past the elbow
- ☐ About 2 to 2.5 free hours, plus a book or headphones
- ☐ Appointment booked and new-donor promo checked on the center’s page or app
Mistakes that get first-time donors turned away
- Out-of-date mail. A bill from three months ago won’t pass at most chains. Bring the newest one you have.
- Out-of-state license with no local proof. Grifols specifically asks for extra address proof in this case, and BioLife requires you to live within 40 miles of the center.
- Name mismatch. A recent name change that isn’t on both your ID and SSN proof can stop the visit. ADMA states the names must match exactly.
- Arriving hungry or dehydrated. It can lead to a deferral or a slower donation.
- Skipping the call. Individual centers can ask for more than the national website lists. A two-minute call settles it.
Related deals
- How often can you donate plasma?: the FDA twice-in-7-days rule explained.
- Highest paying plasma centers in 2026: official new-donor offers compared.
- CSL Plasma coupons and bonus rewards: first-month offer and iGive Rewards.
- BioLife new donor coupon: how local promotions work.
- Grifols plasma bonus coupons: new-donor offers and referrals.
- Octapharma Plasma new donor bonus: the first-35-days promo and OctaRewards.
Frequently asked questions
What do I need to bring to my first plasma donation?
You need a valid government-issued photo ID, proof of your current address and proof of your Social Security number. Most chains accept a lease, utility bill or recently postmarked mail for the address, and some accept a W-2 or pay stub for the SSN.
Can I donate plasma without my Social Security card?
Often yes, if you have another accepted proof of your number. Grifols and Octapharma accept a W-2 or pay stub showing your full SSN, BioLife lists a Permanent Resident Card or Border Crossing Card, and ADMA accepts an ITIN; call your center to confirm.
How recent does proof of address need to be for plasma donation?
It depends on the chain: CSL Plasma and Octapharma say within 60 days, BioLife within two months, and KEDPLASMA, ADMA and Grifols (for utility bills) within 30 days. If your photo ID already shows your current address, several chains accept it on its own.
Can I use an out-of-state ID to donate plasma?
Usually yes, but bring separate proof of your current local address. Grifols says out-of-state IDs need extra address proof, and BioLife requires you to live within 40 miles of the center.
How long does your first plasma donation take?
Plan for about two hours. BioLife, Octapharma, KEDPLASMA and ADMA all say around 2 hours, Grifols says two to two and a half hours, and return visits are shorter.
This article is general information, not medical advice. Requirements vary by center and can change, so call your local center before your first visit, and talk to a doctor if you have health questions about donating.
Sources: CSL Plasma FAQ, BioLife who can donate, BioLife first-time donor guide, Grifols what to bring, Grifols FAQ, Octapharma new donors, Octapharma FAQ, KEDPLASMA requirements, KEDPLASMA FAQ, ADMA how to donate, ADMA FAQ, FDA source plasma inspection guide (checked October 16, 2026).
CouponVPS is not affiliated with CSL Plasma, BioLife Plasma Services, Grifols, Octapharma Plasma, KEDPLASMA or ADMA BioCenters. Document requirements, eligibility rules and promotions are set by each company, vary by location and may change at any time. Always check the official website, app or your local center before your visit.