Plasma Donation Weight Requirements and Why Heavier Donors Can Be Paid More (2026)

Donor stepping on a medical scale at plasma center check-in while staff records weight

Last updated: October 2026 · Weight rules come from official center pages and the FDA. Pay amounts are set by each center and change often, so check your center’s app or fee schedule.

Quick answer
  • Weight and pay: Yes, weight can affect pay. CSL Plasma says donor payments are based on your weight on the day of donation, in 5 weight groups from 110 lb to 230+ lb. Octapharma says pay is based on a mix of weight, height and hematocrit.
  • Minimum weight: 110 lb (50 kg) at CSL Plasma, BioLife, Grifols, Octapharma and KEDPLASMA. This is also the FDA minimum.
  • Why heavier donors can give more: The FDA volume chart allows up to 690 mL for 110-149 lb, 825 mL for 150-174 lb and 880 mL for 175 lb and up (totals include anticoagulant).
  • Maximum weight: None of these five centers publishes an upper weight limit on its official site. Ask your local center.
  • Exact pay: Centers do not publish one national pay-by-weight table. Rates vary by location, month and promotion.

If you weigh more, a plasma center may collect more plasma from you, and some centers pay more for that. But the rules are not the same everywhere, and most centers do not post a public pay chart. Here’s what we checked on cslplasma.com, octapharmaplasma.com, biolifeplasma.com, grifolsplasma.com, kedplasma.us and fda.gov this month.

Weight rules at the big US plasma centers (October 2026)

Center Minimum weight Maximum weight published? Does the official site link pay to weight?
CSL Plasma 110 lb No Yes. Payments are based on your weight on donation day (5 groups)
Octapharma Plasma 110 lb No Yes. Pay is based on weight, height and hematocrit
BioLife Plasma Services 110 lb No Not stated on the pages we checked
Grifols Plasma 110 lb (50 kg) No Not stated on the pages we checked
KEDPLASMA 110 lb No Not stated; says each center has a slightly different compensation schedule

All five centers also weigh you at every visit as part of the quick health check. Your weight that day is the one that counts.

How much plasma can be collected at your weight

The FDA allows plasma centers to use a simple weight-based chart (a “nomogram”) to set the most plasma that can be collected per donation. The figures below come from the FDA memo on the simplified volume nomogram. The collection volume includes the anticoagulant added during the donation.

Donor weight Plasma volume Total collection volume (with anticoagulant)
110-149 lb 625 mL 690 mL
150-174 lb 750 mL 825 mL
175 lb and up 800 mL 880 mL

The top band is 175 lb and up. Under this chart, a 175 lb donor and a 300 lb donor have the same upper limit.

Plasma donation weight rules, based on fda.gov and official center sites (checked October 2026).

Some centers now use height and hematocrit too

CSL Plasma uses an “individualized nomogram” called iNomi at some centers. CSL says the target amount is set at each donation based on your height, weight and hematocrit (the share of red blood cells in your blood). Staff measure your height before your next donation and again at your yearly health check. CSL says some donors may see a change in how much plasma they give, and the target can differ from visit to visit.

Octapharma also says you donate “a volume of plasma based off your individual body chemistry,” and that the time a donation takes depends on your body weight and other factors.

Why heavier donors can be paid more

Plasma centers pay for your time, and the amount they can collect goes up with weight. That is why some centers use weight groups for pay.

Do heavier donors get paid more for plasma?

Often yes, but not always, and not by a fixed amount. CSL Plasma and Octapharma both state on their official sites that weight is part of how pay is set. The other big centers do not say so on the pages we checked. None of these companies publishes a national dollar table by weight, and we won’t guess one. Pay also changes by city, by month and with promos. To see what you would get at your weight:

  1. Download your center’s app or log in to its donor account. Most show the current fee schedule or your next payment.
  2. Call or visit your local center and ask, “What is the pay for my weight group this month?”
  3. Ask at check-in which weight group you landed in that day. Your weight on donation day is what counts.
  4. Check new donor offers separately. First-month bonuses usually follow their own schedule.

Tips if you are close to a weight line

Related deals

Share your experience

Does your center pay by weight? Tell other readers in the comments. Include the center, your city, your weight group, what you were paid or told, and the date.
Only share what you’ve seen yourself at your own center. Please don’t post pay numbers copied from other websites, and don’t share personal health details.

Frequently asked questions

Do you get paid more for plasma if you weigh more?

At some centers, yes. CSL Plasma says payments are based on your weight on donation day, in 5 groups from 110 lb to 230+ lb. Octapharma says pay is based on weight, height and hematocrit. Other centers do not state this on their sites, so ask locally.

What is the minimum weight to donate plasma?

110 pounds (50 kg). CSL Plasma, BioLife, Grifols, Octapharma and KEDPLASMA all list this, and it matches the FDA donor weight rule.

Is there a maximum weight to donate plasma?

None of the five big centers we checked publishes a maximum weight on its official site. A center may still have its own limits, for example for chairs or equipment, so call ahead if you are concerned.

How much plasma is taken based on weight?

Under the FDA simplified nomogram, up to 690 mL for 110-149 lb, 825 mL for 150-174 lb and 880 mL for 175 lb and up. These totals include anticoagulant. Some centers, like CSL with iNomi, also use height and hematocrit.

Does weight affect how long plasma donation takes?

It can. Octapharma says donation time depends on your body weight and other factors. CSL says a donation usually takes about 90 minutes to two hours.

CouponVPS is not affiliated with CSL Plasma, Octapharma Plasma, BioLife, Grifols or KEDPLASMA. Eligibility rules and donor pay can change at any time and vary by center. This page is general information, not medical advice. Sources: official CSL Plasma FAQ, Octapharma Plasma FAQ, BioLife eligibility, Grifols eligibility, KEDPLASMA FAQ, FDA simplified volume nomogram memo, 21 CFR 630.10 (checked October 2026).

Exit mobile version