Plasma Donation Age Limit (2026): Minimum and Maximum Age by Center

Last updated: October 2026 · Age limits below are taken from each plasma company’s own website on October 21, 2026. Individual centers can apply stricter rules, so confirm with your local center before your first visit.
- Age limit: you must be at least 18 to donate plasma at every major U.S. chain we checked, and the published upper limit ranges from 65 to 74 depending on the company (some list no maximum at all).
- Highest published maximum: CSL Plasma says donors aged 18 to 74 can generally donate; Octapharma lists 18 to 70 and Grifols 18 to 69.
- Lowest published maximum: ImmunoTek lists 18 to 65.
- No maximum stated: BioLife and KEDPLASMA don’t publish an upper age limit. BioLife asks donors 66+ for a letter from their healthcare professional.
- State exception: KEDPLASMA’s minimum is 19 in Alabama.
“How old do you have to be to donate plasma?” has a simple answer at the bottom end (18) but a messier one at the top, because each company sets its own upper limit. We checked the official eligibility pages of CSL Plasma, BioLife, Grifols, Octapharma, KEDPLASMA and ImmunoTek (verified October 2026) and put what each one actually says side by side.
Plasma donation age limit by center (2026)
Here’s the minimum and maximum age each chain publishes on its own website. Where a company doesn’t list an upper limit, we say so rather than guess.
| Center | Minimum age | Maximum age | What the official page says |
|---|---|---|---|
| CSL Plasma | 18 | 74 | FAQ: healthy people “between the ages of 18 to 74” who weigh at least 110 pounds can generally donate |
| Octapharma Plasma | 18 | 70 | “You must be between 18 and 70 years old to donate” |
| Grifols Plasma | 18 | 69 | Donors must “be between 18 and 69 years old” |
| ImmunoTek | 18 | 65 | Donors “need to be between the ages of 18 and 65” |
| BioLife Plasma Services | 18 | Not stated on official site | Donors 66+ at the time of their physical exam must bring a letter from their healthcare professional |
| KEDPLASMA | 18 (19 in Alabama) | Not stated on official site | Donors must “be at least 18 years old (19 in Alabama)” |
Checked on each company’s official page on October 21, 2026. A center can still defer you on any day if you don’t pass that day’s health screening.

How old do you have to be to donate plasma?
Eighteen. Every chain in the table lists 18 as the minimum, and none of them publishes a program for 16- or 17-year-olds. Octapharma, for example, asks first-time donors for a current, valid photo ID and notes you must be 18. None of these plasma pages mention a parental-consent option for younger donors.
The one exception we found on an official page is Alabama: KEDPLASMA says its minimum there is 19. Other chains don’t mention state-by-state differences on their eligibility pages, so if you’re 18 and live in a state with a higher age of majority, call your local center before you go.
Don’t confuse plasma rules with whole blood rules. CSL Plasma’s FAQ separately mentions that eligible donors “age 19 and older” can give whole blood every 56 days, but that line is about whole blood, not plasma. For plasma, CSL’s own start-donating page says to be at least 18.

Is there a maximum age to donate plasma?
At most chains, yes, but it isn’t the same everywhere. Based on what each company publishes:
- Up to 74: CSL Plasma (the highest published limit we found).
- Up to 70: Octapharma Plasma.
- Up to 69: Grifols Plasma.
- Up to 65: ImmunoTek.
- No upper limit published: BioLife and KEDPLASMA. BioLife’s eligibility checklist only asks whether you’re at least 18 and adds that donors 66 or older at their physical exam need a letter from their healthcare professional.
“Not stated” doesn’t mean “no limit.” It means the company doesn’t publish one online. The medical staff at your center makes the final call during screening, and your local center may follow rules that aren’t on the national website.
| Your age | Chains whose published range includes you |
|---|---|
| Under 18 | None |
| 18 (Alabama) | Check locally; KEDPLASMA requires 19 in Alabama |
| 18 to 65 | All six chains listed |
| 66 to 69 | CSL, Octapharma, Grifols; BioLife with a healthcare professional’s letter; KEDPLASMA (no maximum stated) |
| 70 | CSL, Octapharma; BioLife with a letter; KEDPLASMA (no maximum stated) |
| 71 to 74 | CSL; BioLife with a letter; KEDPLASMA (no maximum stated) |
| 75 and older | No published range includes you; BioLife and KEDPLASMA don’t state a maximum, so ask your local center |
Age isn’t the only requirement
Meeting the age rule just gets you through the door. Most of these chains also list a minimum weight of 110 pounds (CSL, BioLife, Grifols, Octapharma and KEDPLASMA all state it), and pay at many centers is tied to weight. We cover that in our plasma donation weight requirements and pay guide.
You’ll also need to bring the right documents. KEDPLASMA, for example, asks for a valid government-issued photo ID and a Social Security card, and CSL lists valid ID and a permanent address among its requirements. See what to bring to your first plasma donation for each chain’s list. Recent tattoos and piercings can delay you too: CSL’s FAQ mentions no tattoos or piercings in the last 4 months (details in our plasma and tattoos guide).

Tips if you’re near either end of the age range
- Just turned 18? Bring a current, valid photo ID that shows your date of birth. If you live in Alabama and plan to donate at KEDPLASMA, wait until you’re 19.
- 66 or older at BioLife? Get the letter from your healthcare professional before your first visit so you don’t make a wasted trip.
- Close to a chain’s cutoff? Compare chains. If you’re 70 and turned away by Grifols (69), CSL’s published range goes to 74.
- Call ahead. National websites summarize the rules; your local center applies them. A quick call can confirm the age range and documents.
- Be honest at screening. Your health history matters more than your age, and staff can defer anyone on any day.
Common mistakes to avoid
- Assuming every center uses the same maximum. Published upper limits run from 65 (ImmunoTek) to 74 (CSL).
- Reading “not stated” as “unlimited.” BioLife still requires a healthcare professional’s letter at 66+, and any center can defer you.
- Mixing up blood and plasma rules. Whole blood age rules from blood banks don’t apply to paid plasma centers.
- Showing up without valid ID. Age is checked against your ID, so an expired card can end the visit.
Related guides
- Plasma donation weight requirements and pay: the 110 lb minimum and how weight affects compensation.
- What to bring to your first plasma donation: ID, proof of address and Social Security documents.
- Can you donate plasma with a tattoo? Waiting periods for new tattoos and piercings.
- How often can you donate plasma? The FDA twice-in-7-days rule explained.
- Highest paying plasma centers: new-donor offers compared chain by chain.
Frequently asked questions
How old do you have to be to donate plasma?
At least 18 at CSL Plasma, BioLife, Grifols, Octapharma, KEDPLASMA and ImmunoTek. KEDPLASMA’s minimum is 19 in Alabama.
Is there a maximum age to donate plasma?
It depends on the company. CSL Plasma publishes 74, Octapharma 70, Grifols 69 and ImmunoTek 65. BioLife and KEDPLASMA don’t state a maximum on their official sites.
Can a 70-year-old donate plasma?
Possibly. CSL Plasma (up to 74) and Octapharma (up to 70) publish ranges that include 70, and BioLife accepts donors 66+ who bring a letter from their healthcare professional. Screening staff make the final decision.
Can you donate plasma at 17?
No. None of the major U.S. plasma chains we checked accept donors under 18, and none mention a parental-consent option.
Do you need a doctor’s note to donate plasma if you’re over 65?
At BioLife, yes: donors who are 66 or older at the time of their physical exam must provide a letter from their healthcare professional. The other chains don’t mention this on their eligibility pages, so ask your local center.
Sources: CSL Plasma FAQ, CSL Plasma: start donating, BioLife eligibility checklist, Grifols Plasma FAQ, Octapharma new donors, Octapharma Plasma FAQ, KEDPLASMA donation requirements, ImmunoTek FAQs. Verified on October 21, 2026.
CouponVPS is not affiliated with CSL Plasma, BioLife Plasma Services, Grifols, Octapharma Plasma, KEDPLASMA or ImmunoTek. This article is for general information only and is not medical advice. Eligibility rules are set by each company, vary by location and may change at any time. Always follow your center’s medical staff and check its official website or app.



